Bears and Pandas win CW wrestling titles

By Matt Gutsch on February 16, 2013

For the first time in program history, the University of Alberta captured both the Canada West women's wrestling Trophy and Rawson Trophy (men's) as champions of Canada West wrestling as the second day of the 2013 conference championship came to a close in Edmonton at the U of A’s Main Gym.

The Alberta Pandas won the women’s title handily, finishing first with 39 points, a full 13 points ahead of second place Calgary (26). Regina finished third with 25 points, while Saskatchewan earned 22 points and Winnipeg ended up in fifth with 12 points.

On the men’s side Alberta captured the banner with 43 points, while the Saskatchewan Huskies finished second with 33 points. In third place was the Regina Cougars with 30 points, while Calgary (28) and Winnipeg (19) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

It is the second consecutive Canada West championship for the Pandas, while the Golden Bears picked up their first conference trophy since 1985, and their 20th in team history. Alberta is ranked No.1 in CIS, while the Pandas are ranked No.2.

Regina, winners of the men’s title and a women’s bronze in 2012, finished third on both sides in 2013. Calgary, the No.3 ranked women’s team in CIS, finished second, while the No.7 ranked Huskies’ men earned team silver.

The women’s gold medalists were Calgary’s Josee Tremblay (48 kg), Natalie Brady (51 kg), Hayley Thomas (55 kg), Jamie Bergenstrom (59 kg), and Marlen Figueroa (63 kg) of Alberta, as well as Regina’s Lisa McKibbin (67 kg), Molly Bouchard of the Pandas in the 72 kg weight class and Calgary’s Holly Ellsworth-Clark in the 82 kg class. The top three from each weight class qualify for the national championship March 1-2 at Western Ontario. A full list of qualifiers can be found below.

Regina’s Golden Musonza was the first wrestler to be crowned champion as he won the 54 kg weight class. He was soon joined by teammate Steven Schneider, who is also the defending CIS gold medalist in the 57 kg department. Dylan Williams, Alberta’s second-year dynamo, secured top spot in the 61 kg class while Mike Asselstine, the 2008 Canada West rookie of the year, grabbed first in the 65 kg weight class. Brian Hutton defeated Alberta’s Drew Belanger to win the men’s 68 kg in what might have been the match of the weekend. Multiple CIS gold medalist, and fifth-year grappler Ryan Myrfield earned first place in the 72 kg, and Jake Miller, Winnipeg’s rookie, won 76 kg. Briston Brenton (82 kg) of Winnipeg, Saskatchewan’s Landon Squires (90 kg) and Alberta’s Jamie Hoffman (130 kg) were the other men’s champions.

The CIS wrestling championship is March 1-2 in London, Ontario at Western University. The Brock University Badgers are the reigning women’s champions, while the Concordia University Stingers are defending men’s champions.

Final Women's Standings:
1. Alberta - 39 points
2. Calgary - 26 points
3. Regina - 25 points
4. Saskatchewan - 22 points
5. Winnipeg - 12 points

Top 3 finishes women:

48 kg
Josee Tremblay - Calgary
Natasha Kramble - Saskatchewan
Jasmine Slinn - Regina

51 kg
Natalie Brady - Alberta
Cara Nania - Calgary
Silke Svenkeson - Saskatchewan

55 kg
Hayley Thomas - Alberta
Hannah Franson - Saskatchewan
Emily Kessler - Winnipeg

59 kg
Jamie Bergenstrom - Alberta
Koren Pitkethly - Saskatchewan
Jessy Seida - Calgary

63 kg
Marlen Figueroa - Alberta
Jessica Brenton - Winnipeg
Hilary Goble - Calgary

67 kg
Lisa McKibben - Regina
Sabrina Kelly - Alberta
Ocean Burns - Calgary

72 kg
Molly Bouchard - Alberta
Kristine Longeau - Regina
Taylor Follensbee - Saskatchewan

82 kg
Holly Ellsworth-Clark - Calgary
Jillian Durant - Regina
Madison Beblow - Alberta

Final Men's Standings:
1. Alberta - 43 points
2. Saskatchewan - 33 points
3. Regina - 30 points
4. Calgary - 28 points
5. Winnipeg - 19 points

Top 3 finishes men:

54 kg
Golden Musonza - Regina
Jay Naicker - Alberta
Shane Johnson - Saskatchewan

57 kg
Steven Schneider - Regina
Dylan Bray - Saskatchewan
Jason Wass - Alberta

61 kg
Dylan Williams - Alberta
Sudeepta Aurka - Calgary
Theo Dow - Saskatchewan

65 kg
Michael Asselstine - Alberta
Malcolm Meekins - Saskatchewan
Tyler Buchan - Calgary

68 kg
Brian Hutton - Calgary
Drew Belanger - Alberta
Matt Fedler - Regina

72 kg
Ryan Myrfield - Saskatchewan
Kyle Horvath - Calgary
Adel Taj - Alberta

76 kg
Jake Miller - Winnipeg
Coleman Brinker - Alberta
Jacob Luczak - Regina

82 kg
Briston Brenton - Wininpeg
Jamie Yurick - Alberta
John Lendvoy - Regina

90 kg
Landon Squires - Saskatchewan
Nick Proctor - Calgary
Daniel Oloumi - Alberta

130 kg
Jamie Hoffman - Alberta
Samson Swan - Saskatchewan
Kyle Nguyen - Winnipeg

About Canada West Universities Athletic Association
Canada West is consistently the most decorated of the four conferences in Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS), winning at least 10 CIS national titles every year, 1997 to 2010. Comprised of 16 schools, from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, Canada West produces numerous major award winners and Academic All-Canadian student-athletes each year, with many going on to athletic success around the globe in pro leagues or events such as the Olympics, Paralympics or Universiade Games. @cwuaa on Twitter. #cwTV

A proud member of Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS).